Technical difficulties

I’ve been unable to sync both my iPhone and my iPad to the laptop for the last few weeks. So the great photos I’ve been taking have stayed locked in my phone. And I’ve been insanely busy every day of the week and weekend for pretty much the whole month, so I’ve neglected the blog. But a big part of my “busyness” has been teaching and creating.

I had a commission this month, to make a necklace for my highschool friend Monica, to go with a dress she’s wearing to a wedding. I had a swatch of material and a photo to work from. So I went for pearls, copper and some copper teardrop charms to riff on a Marilyn Gardiner necklace design I keep going back to over and over.

Necklace for Monica

Then I wanted to make a necklace for my mother for her birthday, which was Jan 27. And I used the same concept in sterling silver with big white pearls and I added a filigree heart.  It came out beautifully and she loves it.

Mom's birthday necklace -- sterling and pearls

I also bought some resin and decided to try filling a component and complete a necklace kit I bought from Susan Lenart Kazmer in June at Bead and Button. I loved the results so much I decided to riff on it and make a whole bunch of versions of this necklace. Here are the results:

Here they are ganged all together.

And here they are separately.

A festish ornament on this one from SLK's Industrial Chic line.

Brass wire and charms

Mixed media copper

Finally, I wanted to post some photos of my classroom and class projects.

Michaels classroom - Wilma and Maria

My students at work

Crocheted wire choker

Crystal stones wrapped necklace

I will do a separate post featuring my Kate McKinnon and Amy Waldman-Smith ring.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Marilyn Gardiner
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 02:23:50

    Glad to see you’re keeping busy! Lovely work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

What’s up

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
