Sample sale

Well, I was taken aback when I received an email the other day from my contact at Michaels demanding that I make a new sample of the crimping fundamentals necklace project since they took my sample right off the wall and sold it. So I emailed her back asking for clarification on why and how much, but all she said is it is standard store practice to sell samples. Other instructors tell me that’s true, but not until the class is no longer being offered.

Truthfully, the reason I was most put out about this is that, so far, I’ve received zero marketing support from Michaels to promote my classes, so my beautiful samples have to do the talking for me when it comes to selling these $30 classes. And the sample they sold (and god knows when) is for the class I’m supposed to be offering this Friday. So I trekked up to the store, took materials for “store use” and brought them home. I spent four hours I won’t get paid for because I didn’t make them in store (well, that’s because they don’t even have good tools for me to use there so why would I? Plus, I would rather do it in the comfort of my home where I could watch a movie and relax too…).  Then I trekked back up there this morning to drop them off and put them out, making my own sign to promote this Friday’s class. I have no idea how many people are signed up, but at least I believe several of the store staff will be taking the class. My contact says that’s so she and one of the associates can make their own samples for sale as well. Hmmm. I could be commissioned to make pieces for people. Ideally, they should be encouraging people to take the class and make their own. And I would only get $8 an hour for these samples too. So my time is greatly undervalued.

The upshot: here is a list of my upcoming Michaels classes and events. I’m not scheduling anymore unless things turn around and there’s more organization and support shown.

Friday, January 7, 6:30 – 8:30 pm Fundamentals of Crimping

Saturday, January 8 — private birthday party — knotted bracelet

Friday, January 14, 6:30 – 8:30 pm Advanced Stringing (a 3-strand necklace)

Saturday, January 15, 2 – 4 pm Bead Clinic which will take place in Bead Corner

Friday, January 21, 6:30 – 8:30 pm Fundamentals of Wirework

Saturday, January 22, 2 – 4 pm Fundamentals of Wire Crochet

Friday, January 28, 6:30 – 8:30 pm Advanced Wire Wrapping

Leave a Reply

What’s up

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
