Sinner

With the name Cindy, the word sin is an irresistible pun that even I take advantage of. But I’ve had sinners on my mind lately, even though I don’t believe I’m much of a religious person anymore, at least in the organized, church-going way. I do believe that people get what’s coming to them and what you send out you get back: karma, if you will. Mitzvahs piled up if you’re a good person. Those of you who are FB friends will know I’m on an uncharacteristic vendetta against someone who’s claimed what is rightfully mine. That story will play out and karma, or whatever you call it, will bite that witch in the ass. Mark my words. But enough of family feuds…

What I’m getting to is that I’ve committed the cardinal sin of a blogger — not posting for two weeks. I will apologize right now, but also pile on the excuses. I have a new job and have had meetings and events virtually every night. So when I do get a few minutes, I want to just catch up on some tv shows, continue making Christmas presents and relax a bit.

But some of my precious time has been taken up with teaching. Last Sunday afternoon, I had a class of two at Michaels to teach them the basics of knotting — essentially a macrame knotted bracelet. It went well, and I gained a new acolyte. Then right afterward, I threw myself into the eye of the hurricane known as a 10 year old girl’s birthday party and taught them the same technique.¬† It was crazy, but mostly because of the disorganization of the Micheals people. I’ll be doing another party in January and have learned some valuable lessons that should make the next one go well.

I am just on my way out now to teach the final of the four fundamentals classes, Wire Wrapping. A pair of delicate earrings will be the outcome, so I hope I have students. If not, Laura and I can get on with the creativity of our Christmas baking extravaganza. And we realized it’s our 10th year of baking together. We have that art down to a fine science. As with jewellery techniques, practice makes perfect results, but we can’t resist experimenting with something new every year. This year, Guinness Gingerbread. And it was a success!

Talk soon.

Leave a Reply

What’s up

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
