Work work work…

…makes it difficult to focus on my creative life. The first week on a new job is also pretty stressful. However my new colleagues made it fun and fairly painless. But I am exhausted, since I’ve worked every day and had a commitment every evening that’s kept me out late.

But a couple of things to report. I submitted the piece I made for last year’s TBS Bag of Beads challenge to be entered into an international exhibit being hosted by  J.O.G.S. and Art Bead Circle which will take place January 28 to February 9, 2011 at the Tucson Expo Center 3750 E Irvington Rd Tucson, AZ 85714.

It is called Key to Me(mory). It incorporates braided spool knitting, bead embroidery, wirework and stringing with vintage buttons and vintage brass findings I inherited as part of my great-aunt’s button collection. It is meant to echo bead punk a bit as well as hark back to the chatelaines of old. The copper pipe cap caged as the focal pendant is a reminder of my childhood when I played in building sites with my dad who was an electrician, plumber and general jack of all trades. The spool knitting is a craft from my childhood as well. And my uncle worked for a brass and copper foundry and would give me wires to braid and play with.

Key to Me(mory)

On Friday night I taught my second class at Michaels. I had four students, one more than last time, but we took several steps backwards at Michaels. They seem to have lost my card to clock in. Then the class which was a fundamentals of stringing class, the sole purpose of which was to teach people how to use and cut memory wire, was a bit of a bust since there were no memory wire cutters in stock. I didn’t have a pair either so I struggled through using some crappy nippers. Embarrassing.  Fortunately my students were cool with it.

Michaels has booked me to lead a birthday party in December and another in January. Both will be the fundamentals of knotting, where I’ll teach the girls how to make a macrame hemp bracelet.

And a confession: I spent $150 on silver components and semi-precious stones at Stones and Findings at Friday over lunch, then went back to the office and ordered $80 worth of end cones for Viking Knit bracelets from Artbeads.com. I was thankful for the 20% Thanksgiving Discount which saved me $20!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherry Chick
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 16:35:08

    Ahhh….new jobs are always a little scary. Kudos on the submission for judging…good luck!
    Sorry to hear about no wire cutters at Michaels. I finally found out were they were “hiding” ours in my store since they seemed to be “walking” out of the store. You might ask if they are hidden in your store, too.
    I hear you on the “bead shopping” I spent $80 on Friday at Michaels but when they had the strands at 50% off and another 30% everything on top of that with a coupon it’s hard to resist. It’s an addiction…I know.

    Reply

  2. Jackson
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 21:03:13

    There’ll be plenty of time to relax later. Hopefully, Michael’s can get their act together.

    And I understand completely about the shopping. Last time I was at John Bead (with two others), I told them to go ahead and shop so I wouldn’t have to spend $200 myself. Then I spent $200 myself and another $1000 on the weekend after that. I don’t think I needed anything. I think I just like organizing the beads.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

What’s up

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
