First night

So I instructed my first class at Michaels last night. I had three students and I’d already met two of them at the Bead Evening at Michaels on October 29. They were all eager to do the project called “Fundamentals of Crimping.” Sounds sexy, eh? Well, really, it’s a princess-length necklace on Beadalon that features clusters of beads crimped in place along the wire — they look like they’re floating there. It is anchored by a focal bead with charms dangling from it. Easy peasy, right? Well, after going through intros, then touring the Bead Corner at Michaels, we got down to business.

Boy was I glad I only had three students. By the time we went through the steps and I got them to lay out their design, then showed them how to crimp, we used up every minute of the class. In fact, we ran overtime. But that might have a lot to do with the fact that we talked and laughed a lot too. The three students, Alice, Yadira and Elena, got along well and praised each others’ results.

I think it was a successful first class. So next Friday I teach the “Fundamentals of Stringing.” But don’t try to guess what the project actually is, because I guarantee you’ll be wrong. It is, in fact, a memory bracelet. Yes, students will learn to string beads on memory wire, how to create a loop at the beginning and end with roundnose pliers and how to attach charms at either end with jump rings. And there’s one thing I’m sure of — we will take every minute of the two hours to learn these basics.

Oh, and the other thing I’m pretty sure about: all three of my students will be back for more next week!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherry Chick
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 14:43:57

    Congratulations Cindy! I can’t imagine having more than 3 students at a time. Being able to answer each persons questions and keeping the class flowing is so important. I’m sure this is only the beginning of a wonderful time for you and your students. Finally!

    Reply

  2. Sue Henry
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 14:46:07

    Congratulations! First one is the most anxious! So has Michael’s figured out how lucky they are to have you yet?

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 20:31:58

    Cindy, that is just super and exactly the way a class should be! As you say, a two-hour memory wire class? But yes, that exactly how long it took me and my student Jan a couple of weeks ago to complete a gorgeous bracelet that Jan will be wearing to a wedding this winter. Once we actually get to teach a class (!), boy, isn’t it fun?!

    Reply

  4. Marilyn Gardiner
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 23:52:24

    Sounds like you had fun!
    Next week, be sure to teach them which cutters to use on memory wire, and which one are a no-no. I think I saw/heard that there is now coloured memory wire…
    Marilyn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

What’s up

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
