Certifiable

I completed the Michaels Bead Academy certification course for instructors online this afternoon. A test of how carefully you watch which colour beads they use in the design. Hardly a difficult test to pass, for sure.

I stopped by the store to drop off my samples of knotted hemp bracelets. I’m going to try a few more just for fun, but I can’t let it take away from my holiday present making activities during this, my last week of freedom.

I also made a pair of amethyst earrings using the wire wrapping technique I’m supposed to teach, to show people they can make pretty things too, using other beads.

So here’s my biggest challenge and, I guess, a confession: I have never stuck to a pattern in my life. EVER. So how in the world am I going to teach other people to? I will consistently tell them to do what feels right. To change it up to suit their own sense of design. And there are lots of people out there just like me.

But I have students already who want to slavishly copy exactly pieces I’ve made. Sometimes, I’m embarrassed to admit I don’t even remember what I did and could never recreate it. One of a kind usually applies to my work. So I’m trying. Trying hard to follow the Michaels pattern exactly for at least one sample of the project. Then I let my imagination rule and create a second set of samples to inspire my students and show people what I can do with the basics.

Perhaps this is not all bad. I am learning to be a conformer. When it’s called for.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shpak60
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 22:33:43

    The “you” will always come through.

    Reply

  2. Laurie-Anne Clinton
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 01:09:45

    Conformer, no, I have never been a conformer. I guess that’s what I liked in you. Wasn’t sure what it was but now I know. Beat to your own drum.

    Reply

  3. Sue Henry
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 14:50:12

    Students will follow the pattern to start – until they develop their confidence and they own bead “voice”. That’s what we all do. Next one will be different! Plus they recognize you are truly a bead/wire/design goddess – who could dispute that! Follow the clear leader!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

What’s up

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
