Chained

Yesterday was a day to fall back on an old favourite — Chain maille. I spent the day making what will turn out to be Christmas presents for family and friends. I even went the kit route, with kits from Marilyn Gardiner (marilyngardiner.com).

There’s something comforting about the repetitive motion of opening and closing jump rings, of getting the trick of a pattern and doing it over and over and over. And at the end of it all, you have a gorgeous bracelet or necklace. A piece that, hopefully, the person you give it to will cherish and wear, treating it like the piece of fine jewellery it is.

I finished a Chinese knot necklace, a Japanese Stepping Stone bracelet (with charms), an inverted round bracelet with copper beads trapped inside. Today I will try to finish the copper dragonscale bracelet. Who gets what, right now, I don’t know for sure.

This morning I finished a loomed choker. It is 28 ga non-tarnish silver with green iridescent freshwater pearls. I’m giving it a test wearing now. Here is a picture of it before I attached a lobster clasp at the back. I am pretty happy with the outcome. It floats delicately around my neck and is not tight to the neck. And it is so light you barely know it’s there. So I will keep on trying different weights of wire, different colours and different beads. Perhaps next I’ll try some Swarovski bicones to up the bling sparkle quotient.

I can see how this pattern, made with 24 or 22 gauge wire, could be used to make a tiara as well. Another day, perhaps.

Tonight, a second interview for a job. I need to get back to the world of work, but I dread it a bit because it will have an impact on my creative life. But I need to pay the mortgage and the bills…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Warland
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 16:57:51

    I LOVE this choker it looks like it would make a good class for the spring bead fair.

    Reply

    • wiredbeads
      Nov 01, 2010 @ 17:05:05

      I’d be happy to teach it, but people would have to buy their own loom. They can be purchased in the knitting section of Michaels for $19.99 and you get a whole set of them in different sizes. I suppose you could even make a belt if you wanted to! The materials are fairly inexpensive — a spool of parawire and beads. The beads could be seed beads or crystals or semi-precious.

      Reply

  2. Sue Henry
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 02:41:46

    Very cool! How’s the purse coming? Pictures please!
    Lucky friends who receive chain mail jewellery! How do you know what size to make them if you don’t know who gets them?

    Reply

    • wiredbeads
      Nov 02, 2010 @ 14:17:02

      I have the wire loomed part of a purse done. Have to spool knit a handle and then create a lining. I am waiting for more of it to be done before I post a pic. Patience! Although I will likely bring it with me on the weekend to the TBS Fall Fair.

      Reply

  3. Sue Henry
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 22:35:08

    Cool – Mikey will be so jealous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

What’s up

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
