Exhausted/Exhilarated

So, I hosted my first beading event at Michaels Downsview, 33 Billy Bishop Way, tonight.

A room of what was supposed to be 15 people turned into a roomful of about 20 people – some as young as 6, one young boy about 9 or 10 and women of all ages. Most of them knew little to nothing about bead basics and all of them wanted my attention at the same time. After I explained a few basics about tools, and showed them samples of some of my work, I took them on a tour of the jewelry section of the store. I was bombarded with questions, spent the night going from person to person to person demonstrating wrapped loops, crimping, stringing, knotting. I managed to get to all of them, show them how, sell them supplies and watch some of them blossom with creativity. And that’s the payoff: to have inspired someone to do something new, create with their mind, hands and heart, and feel joy and pride in the creation. I find I really love to teach, mentor and inspire. It’s as much of a rush as creating something new. And the excitement and freshness the students bring to learning from me is exhilarating. So I learn by teaching. How much fun is this!

I have the dates and times for my four fundamentals classes at Michaels: Nov 19, Nov 26, Dec 3, Dec 5. Classes are two hours long and are on the following topics: Basic Stringing, Crimping Basics, Wire Wrapping and Knotting.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa Nelson
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 05:09:40

    Hi! I’m so glad to be following your blog! It’s going to be fantastic!!!

    Melissa

    Reply

  2. Sue Henry
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 21:25:14

    Yes teaching is very rewarding! And we already know you will be great at it!
    Looking forward to your blog.
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

What’s up

October 2010
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
